Dashboards are central to everything on Eploy – from reporting on KPIs, tracking activity and navigating through the database, your dashboard should be the gateway to all things recruitment and all things analytics.
As they are so universal and so flexible, Dashboards are ideal for collaborative working, allowing you and your team to report on the same statistics or track the same activity; having access to data & dashboards on Eploy also means that you don’t need to print or download information in order to share with key stakeholders, helping reduce any GDPR risks.
Copying Vs Sharing
There two ways to collaboratively work on dashboard, each method with its own benefits – have a read of the below to see which is best for you and how to action on your database:
As the name suggests, using Copy Dashboards allows you to give another user access to an exact replica of your dashboard. This can be great to quickly give that user an insight into your work, without the risk of them making changes or upsetting your metrics. It also can be used to give someone else a starting point for their own dashboards, allowing them to tweak and edit their copy without impacting on your original dashboard.
To copy a dashboard to another user, select Tools on the grey toolbar and Copy Dashboard.
This will then allow you to pick from a list of active users (or multiple!) to copy the dashboard over too before clicking on Continue.
Once you have clicked Continue, you will get confirmation that the dashboard has been shared. The recipient will receive an email and then be able to find their new dashboard within the dashboard menu.
Hint – if the dashboard doesn’t appear for the recipient, ask them to log out and log back into the system, then check the Dashboard menu.
Whilst Copy Dashboard gives other users access to a duplicate version of your dashboard, Sharing the dashboard will mean that they see a live version of your current dashboard – this means that as the dashboard evolves and more information is added to the dashboard, anyone who has either view or edit access will be see the changes in live. This is much more effective for collaborative working, as it means all with access are always working from the same page.
To share a dashboard, you can control those who can view or edit your dashboard within Dashboard Settings.
Within Dashboard settings, there are then options available for Who can view and Who can edit your dashboard:
- Who can View – This will give the assigned users read only access to the dashboard. They wont be able to add widgets or change filters on the dashboard, but they will be able to navigate into the dashboard, review statistics or download the dashboard into excel / pdf.
- Who can Edit – This will give the assigned user full access to the dashboard, including the ability to move or change widgets, update title and descriptions or even delete the dashboard. Be cautious when allowing others to edit your dashboard, as if it is deleted accidentally, it can not be recovered! Allowing Edit would typically be used when sharing a team dashboard with an admin user, who can help to maintain or update the dashboard as required.
Pros of Copy Dashboard:
- Creates a duplicate version of dashboard, which is great for testing, training or a starting point for new users.
- Allows users to personalise and customer dashboard to their own ways of working.
- Can be copied multiple times, to multiple users to create different variations or versions, which is great changing slight details.
Pros of Share Dashboard
- Changes made to the dashboard are instantly available to all users with access.
- Can share Read-Only dashboards with stakeholders who don’t require access to the rest of the database – i.e no Eploy training or understanding of dashboards.
- Driving consistency through the team, as everyone works from same page.
- No accidental duplicates from copying too many times.