Managing your Dashboards allows you to very quickly create copies, share with other stakeholders and even start from scratch with a blank dashboard.
To create or manage a dashboard, use the Tools menu in the top right hand corner. This menu allows you to change the configuration of an existing dashboard, as well as allow you to create, copy or share.
Tip you can also specify your default dashboard from this menu.
New Dashboard / Dashboard Settings
These options will allow you to initially configure a new dashboard, or make any changes to the dashboard currently selected. The options here include:
- Title - This is the name of the dashboard and will show within the dashboard menu. Ensure this is clear and concise, so that you know exactly for what the dashboard is used.
Hint - If coping the dashboard after making changes, you should consider updating the title to ensure that you don't end up with multiple dashboards with the same name.
- Description - this field can be used for you to define your dashboard, in your own terms. This can be particularly useful to give extra info about the dashboard, especially when sharing with other stake holders.
- Who Can View / Who Can Edit - These options control who else has access to your dashboard, as well as who is able to make any changes. Sharing dashboards in this way means that when you make changes, those changes are reflected for all parties with access. This is ideal for collaborative working but be cautious, if a user can edit your dashboard, they will also be able to delete it!
- Layout Options - Here you can set the structure of the dashboard and determine the layout of any widgets added. You can change this at any time without losing any widgets, so feel free to experiment with different layouts to suit the needs of the dashboard and the data. Ranging from 4 columns through to full page width, the layout will determine the size of your widgets, so keep this in mind if adding different types of charts or graphs.
Click Save to confirm and load your dashboard.
Within the dashboard settings, you can chose who can view or edit your dashboard. However, the Copy Dashboard function allows you to create a new identical version of your dashboard, which can be shared with either your own user or others with core system access. This can be particularly effective if you just need to make some slight tweaks to the information displayed, but don't want to impact on your original dashboard.
When using Copy Dashboard, simply select the users you wish to receive a copy and click Continue. The dashboard will appear immediately within the dashboard menu, whilst the user will also receive an email to let them know they have a new dashboard to access.
Hint - By selecting to copy to your own user, you can essentially duplicate the dashboard. This is really useful when you need a new dashboard with only minor tweaks.
Also within this menu, you can:
- Set as Default - Make this dashboard the first one you see when you log in.
- Refresh All Widgets - Whilst the widgets will refresh each time the page loads to show the latest information, you can refresh them all using this option. If you are looking at the page, the numbers wont dynamically update unless you refresh.
- Export to Excel - Sometime you need to share your dashboard with a stakeholder who doesn't have core system access. Export to Excel will allow you to download the raw data behind all of the widgets into separate excel sheets
- Print Dashboard - similar to exporting to excel, the print dashboard function allows you to download the information displayed on the dashboard. However, this option will use the graphics from the dashboard rather than the raw data in a spreadsheet.