Within Admin > Authorisation Workflows, you can manage any existing Authorisation processes by clicking into the title, or create a new one by clicking New on the grey toolbar.
In either case, the first things to complete will be the Workflow Details, where you can define the titles, add descriptions and create your filters.
Hint - If creating a new workflow, it maybe beneficial to duplicate an existing process and tweak the details. This can help reduce the admin required, especially if you are only looking to add a stage or update the filters. To Duplicate, click into the existing workflow and click Duplicate from the Details section.
Work your way through the following fields to set up your workflow and click Save to confirm:
- Title - This is the name of your Authorisation Workflow and will be visible in both the core system and the hiring manager portal. With this in mind, it should be something clear and concise, which indicates to users the nature of the process.
- Type - This determines whether the approval process will be used for vacancies or placements. Once set, this can not be changed due to the nature of the process and the filter options which become available.
- Description - This allows you to define the workflow in your own terms and provide any additional information for users. This will be visible in the hiring manager portal, so gives you an opportunity to provide any further help or guidance for your hiring manager community when triggering approvals.
- Active - Once ticked, the workflow will be allocated as the role / offer is raised. With this in mind, do not activate until you have fully configured all of your workflows, including ensuring that the filters do not overlap with any other workflow.
Hint - When configuring workflows, making them active should always be the final step, to ensure that your filters are set up correctly. If a vacancy matches the filter in multiple workflows, the hiring Manager will not be able to trigger an approval process.
- Allow Fast Tracking - If activated, this option will allow users who are normally approvers further down the process to bypass any previous approval. For example, if the user who is normally the third approver raises a role, this setting will allow them to bypass first and second approval automatically. This can help to speed up processes and avoid unnecessary admin, but only use if the approver is authorised to do so.
- Self Authorisation - Linked with Fast Tracking, this option will allow users to pick themselves if they are also an approver. For example, if Head of Department is a position type available as an approver and the user raising the role has that position type, they will be able to allocate themselves. If unchecked, the user would have to get approval from a different Head of Department.
- Assign to Vacancies - The filter is used to allocate the workflow to vacancies or offers as they are triggered. You need to ensure that your filters do not overlap, so that each vacancy / offer only matches the filter in one available workflow.