As your Candidates work their way through the Recruitment Workflow, you can trigger automated emails & SMS messages with status updates, interview invites and rejections, all based on your templates and your schedule.
This email notification schedule is managed within each stage of your Recruitment Workflow. Before setting this up though, there are a few things to consider:
- Notifications can be sent for any status within your stage, so ensure you have the required email templates in place first. Click here to learn more about creating Email and SMS Templates.
- You have the facility to use a different email template when contacting Internal, External and Agency candidates. This gives you the flexibility to tailor your message depending on the type of Candidate you're contacting
- If using automated SMS messages as part of your template, ensure you have the budget or credit allowance to do so - the more frequently an automated SMS is sent, the more credit you'll need.
To view any notifications already in place, scroll down to the Stage in question and click on the Notification section. This expands to display all notifications and settings for the stage.
Creating a Notification
When clicking add within the notification section, you should first select the status on which you need to trigger the email. You can then indicate the candidate types who will receive the email - internal, external or vendor candidates. Select the required options from the list.
Next, select the default email template from the drop down list, as well as any other emails templates you want to make available for this status. By making multiple emails templates available, when the candidate reaches that stage and the email is to be triggered manually, these templates will readily be available to you. This means you can make it easy for your teams to pick from a range of pre-approved templates for that stage of the process. This can be useful when different departments with different branding requirements all use the same workflow - they can use their own departmental email templates rather than a centralised one.
Hint - The default email template will load automatically into the Mail Merge if sending manually. If you choose to automate the email, this will be the template that is used.
Once you have picked your template, you can decide on any automation on the email and configure how that needs to work. This is based on the Send Email Automatically field, which has multiple options available.
Do Not Send
This option requires no further configuration, as the email will not be sent automatically. Use this if the email content needs to be customised before sending. With this option selected it is the Users responsibility to manually send the email.
Hint - when candidates are at this stage in the workflow, they will show as Needs Contacting.
When Candidate Reaches This Stage
This option is for when you wish to automate the sending of the email and means you can configure exactly how it needs to work.
- Auto Send Start Date - This is the date that the email will be sent from and will check to see when the application status was set. This means you can backdate this if you want this notification to be sent to anyone who is already at the status. Setting a date in the future however will mean only those who reach the status after the date set will receive the email - this allows you to continue manually contacting the candidates when using the status up until the date and then from then onwards, you know the notification is sent automatically. This is particularly useful when implementing new notifications or changing the way your existing workflow is used.
- Delay Notifications - You can use this to control how long after you set the status, the email will be sent. This can be particularly useful if you are setting up rejection notifications, so that candidates do not appear to be rejected immediately. We recommend adding a buffer to any emails like this, of up to a couple of days, meaning that you can reconsider the application if need be, and to ensure that the candidate experience is not a negative one, especially if they have been rejected automatically.
Hint - If set to no delay, the email will be triggered within 10mins of setting the status, but often it will go immediately. This means that if the status is set incorrectly, you may not be able to stop the email from being sent so please do consider this when adding appropriate delays.
- Sender - this allows to you specify who the sender of the automated email will be, with the following options:
- Specified Below - Allows you to free type the sending address and display text.
- Hiring Manager on Vacancy - This will be the main Contact on the Vacancy
- Our Company Email - This will be the central email address used for notifications on your system and will be the same address which sends the registration acknowledgement email at the registration stage.
- Standard User on Vacancy - this option will use the System Email Address of the Core System User assigned to the Vacancy. If the Vacancy does not have a user, will default to the company email.
- User That Moved Candidate To This Stage - the email will be sent from the email address of whoever moved the application to the current status.
- Email for Reminders - If you'd like to send a reminder email, select the email template you wish to use. You'll then be able to enter how often you'd like the reminder sent (in days) and after how many days you'd like to stop sending reminders.
When Active Slots are Available for Candidates
This option specifically relates to action stages, where candidates can self-serve to select their interview slots. Rather than delaying the email, this setting will mean that as soon as a slot becomes available to the candidate (based on being at the right stage in the workflow), the email will trigger to let them know.
If using this setting, you can still set the auto start date, the sender and the reminder details - which can be particularly effective to ensure that candidates pick their slots ASAP!
When Vacancy is Closed
This option can be used if you'd like to send a notification to your Candidates when the Vacancy is closed, letting them know that you are no longer recruiting for the position. This can be particularly useful at the website application to review stage, as it will capture all candidates who have not yet been reviewed, rejected or shortlisted.
Hint - Whilst the vacancy may be closed, the application is still considered active. You may want to reject or terminate all the active applications before closing the vacancy.