Follow

Whether you are setting up a new user or editing an existing one, User Permissions are crucial to controlling what the user can do and see within Eploy.

This guide will go through the different types of permissions available and the different system areas, whilst also including some hints and tips for setting up users.

If you would like to jump to a specific section in this article, please use the links below:

General Permissions

To check or assign permissions to a Core System user, navigate to Admin > Users and click on the User ID of the user you wish to edit.  Having clicked on their ID, click on the General Permissions tab. You'll now see a full list of permissions, as well as the permission types available.

mceclip0.png

Before you make any changes to the permissions, here are some hints and tips to help you manage your permission profiles:

  • Changes to permissions take effect the next time the user logs in to the system. This means that if they are logged in when you make the change to their permissions, they will need to log out and log back in for the change to take effect.
  • Permissions are based on the record type and do not allow you to segregate data - so if the user has the permission for Company Details, they will able to see all companies within the database.
  • At the bottom of the permission page, you can use Select All to give the user all of the safe permissions (standard system access, no deletes, no admin function). If you are unsure which permissions this user needs, start with Select All and then tweak from there.
  • Be cautious with Delete permissions, as there is no recycle bin facility on Eploy. Inadvertently deleting the wrong record can have an impact on data visibility and system configuration, so we recommend that you only have the delete permission when you need it and remove it when you don't.

Note - Accidentally deleted records can be recovered, but there may be a cost associated as development is required to restore the information. If you have accidentally deleted a record, please contact Eploy Support and we can discuss the steps necessary.

Types of Permission

Across the system, there are different types of permissions available in different areas, such as Edit, View or Delete:

  • Edit - Will allow the user to make changes to that record type, including updating fields and values.
  • Multiple Edit - Allows the user to make changes en masse to selected records, but only to a restricted number of fields.
  • View - This will give the user the ability to see that record type.  If you give the user the Edit permission, Eploy will automatically set the View permission as well.
  • Merge to CSV -  This allows the user to export data from your Eploy Database into a .CSV file and is a great way of extracting data. 
  • Delete -This allows the user to delete records of that type. If the user does not have the delete permission, the delete button for that record type is hidden.
  • Update Website - Allows the user to make changes to your company website, but only if you are making use of any of our newsletter or blog functionality.
  • Merge Duplicates - If a duplicate record is identified, this will allow that user to merge the two records together.
  • Authorise - This is used with placements, timesheets and skills, where approval can lock each record. Once approved in this way, only the approver will be able to make any subsequent changes.

These types of permissions may only apply to specific record types or permissions, so do not apply for all of the permissions available.

Updating Permissions

When viewing the list of permissions available, you can see the record type the permission is for, as well as the different types of permissions available for each. Simply check each tick box for each permission as required before using the save function to confirm.

Hint - Unsure which permission you need? Use Select All at the bottom of the page to auto select the safe permissions, which will give you full access to the system, but with out the ability to delete or authorise. Depending on the role of the user, you can then add in additional admin permissions, such as User Admin, Credit History or System Admin.

Powered by Zendesk