When setting up Hiring Manager users, you need to consider their role & how that translates into Client Permissions. These permissions help to determine exactly what hiring managers are able to do in the portal, as well as the information that they have access too.

Note – Whilst Permissions need to be set for hiring managers, what they can do / access in the portal will also be influenced by the company structure, the recruitment workflow settings and any authorisation workflow settings.

Creating Hiring Manager Users

Whilst there is a number of ways to a create new users, the most efficient way is to ensure you have added the contact record first. The contact record will be all of the personal details of each hiring manager, including contact information, email addresses and position type. The contact should be added to the relevant company / department within the database to ensure they sit within the correct part of the company structure.


Note – In order to create a hiring manager user, you need to ensure you have the relevant user permission. If you do not have the Hiring Manager User permission, please speak with your admin users.

Once the contact has been created, click into the User tab. This will show you any associated users within this contact record.


On the grey tool bar, you can then click New to create the Hiring Manager user. Depending on the information on the contact record, this will populate some of the key fields for the hiring manager. Most importantly, you need to ensure the following fields are populated:

  • User Display Name – This will show against vacancies and when the hiring manager logs into the portal.
  • Position – This will be the position of the hiring manager, taken from the contact record.
  • User Name – this will be used when logging into the hiring manager portal.
  • User Type – For Hiring Managers, please ensure that this is set to Hiring Manager.

Note – Creating a user with the wrong user type cannot be undone, as the system will create a permission user profile based on the type. If you incorrectly set a user type, you will need to deactivate the user and start the process again, using a different username for the hiring manager.

  • Password – Here you can generate a single use password for a hiring manager, allowing them to access the portal. The first time they log in, they will be prompted to update the password to something more secure. This can also be used for resetting the password for existing hiring managers.
  • System Email Address – This will be the email address used to send emails from & too within the system.

Note – You can also choose to populate additional information against the user record, such as the address and contact information.

Client Permissions

Once you have created and saved the record, you will then be able to switch to the client permissions. These settings help to control what the hiring manager can access within the portal and how they interact with vacancies, applications and placements.


  • Vacancy SubmissionEdit / View / Insert / Delete – These options allow for hiring managers to be involved in the requisition process and enables them to access vacancies available to them.

  • Candidate SearchEdit – If allowed as part of the recruitment workflow, this permission will give the hiring manager access to the talent pool features in the portal. This includes basic searching functionality.

  • Long ListEdit - If allowed as part of the recruitment workflow, this permission will allow hiring managers to access any long lists associated with their vacancies.

  • Applications Stages / Actions StagesEdit & Update / View & Add Comments – These options relate to the recruitment workflow and help to determine what the hiring manager can access / update.

NoteMove Between Stages & Contact Candidates are permissions that relate at each stage of the recruitment workflow, allowing you to control whether hiring managers can progress applicants from one stage to the next as well as use the mail merge facility at each stage of the process.

  • Interview SlotsEdit / View / Insert / Delete – these options allow hiring managers to outline their own interview availability, giving applicants the chance to self-select.

  • Placement StagesEdit & Update Status / View / Insert / Delete – As part of the recruitment workflow, these options give flexibility to hiring managers once the applicant reaches a placement stage.

Once confirmed, click Save to confirm the permissions set. The changes will apply to the user from the next time they log into the portal.

Powered by Zendesk