To go with the document editor, we also have a new module of the system where you can manage your own templates, meaning you can edit existing copies, archive old ones and create new template options.
This section is restricted by your user permissions, but once you have permission, you will be able to access the Document Template Editor within the Admin on the Eploymenu.
This will then show you any existing templates you have available, as well as when they were last modified and when they were created:
From this menu, you can then:
- Edit the Properties of the template by clicking into the template title. These settings include the filename format, whether it is an active template or not and the default stored file type & extension.
Note: To delete old templates, you can do this within properties, if you have the required user permission.
- Preview the content of the template in a quick view window.
- Edit the content & body of the template.
- Upload a new version, overwriting the existing template
- Download the template, to access outside of Eploy.
You can also create a new template, by selecting New on the Eploy toolbar.
Creating a New Template
Once you have clicked New, you will then be able to set the original properties of the template:
- Merge To – this field determines where in the system the template will be available and what record type you will be merging too – will you be creating this document against candidates or companies? Placements?
Note – This cannot be changed once the template it created, so if set incorrectly you will need to start afresh.
- File Name Format – This field determines how the resulting document will be saved when created against the record. You are able to determine your required format using the File Name merge fields available below. Simply select the options from the list and click + to add into the field. You can also type into this box as required. As you make changes, the example will update and show how the document will be saved.
- Active – This option will allow you to archive old templates by deselecting. Similarly, if you are preparing templates that are for the future, you can create them as inactive until required. Any inactive templates will be maintained on the system but users will not be able to select them when creating documents.
- Template Title – This is how the template will appear on Eploy and within drop down lists. This should be the default name for the master template / version of the document.
- Default Stored File Type – When the document is created, this field will determine the default file type. This can be particularly useful for creating PDFs on the system.
- Default Correspondence Type – This setting will allow you to report on how correspondence types are being used within the system. For example, with contract as a correspondence type, you can track the number of contracts being created regardless of the contract content or version.
Note: You can create new Correspondence Types within Admin – Drop Down Lists on the Eploymenu.
Once these initial fields have been completed, you will also have access to the editor settings, where you can manage who can make changes to the template / document:
If you are creating advance documents, you may find some features are unavailable within our editor; if this is the case, you can set the first question – Stop this template from being opened in the document editor – to Yes. This means that once the document has been created within Eploy, you cannot edit it against the record.
You can also lock down the template, to stop users in the future from making changes to the master template. The final two questions will allow you to stop people from editing these settings or from overwriting your template.
Once you click create, your template will be added to the list of existing templates and the document editor will automatically open.
Content & Merge Fields
For a full guide on editing document content, please see Working Within the Document Editor.
This section however will go through how to upload content, manipulate the body of the template and insert or manage merge fields.
Once the document editor has opened, you will see a blank document for you to input your content, write out your text and enter your document structure. However, if you already have a document that have been approved internally or wish to use as a starting point, you need to use the Open File function.
Open File, available on the Home tab, will allow you to select a local document and draw into the document editor. This can be particularly useful if the content has been provided by a different department and you are simply entering on to Eploy.
When you click Open File, you will be able to upload a document by selecting locally, dragging into the drag & drop box or by uploading from a cloud based storage system:
Once you have selected your file, click Upload – this will then show your chosen document within the editor and make any changes accordingly.
Working with Merge Fields
Once you have your content and are ready to start inserting merge fields, you need to follow these steps:
- Place your cursor within the document editor, where you wish the merge field to be inserted.
- Select the Merge Fields tab on the tool bar.
- The first option available will be Merge Field, which when clicked will show a breakdown of Eploy by record down and then a sub-menu of the fields available from each record type:
Note: The options available here may vary depending on the Merge To set when creating the document. As merge fields differ depending on what type of record the document is for, this is why the Merge To is no longer editable after creating the template.
Once you have found your required field, simply click the field to enter it into the body of the text.
Now that the field has been added, it will draw through the related information when the document is created. If you enter the wrong merge field, you can remove it from the template by right clicking on the field and selecting Delete Field. This menu will also give you access to the Field Properties, where you can manipulate the merge field further.
Once you have completed your template, you can use the save & close option to finalise the document, close the editor and return you to template list.
Now that the template is created, you can edit it again by using the Edit options available.