Follow

Information For Your IT Team

In order to set up EployMail on your system, the Eploy Customer Support team will need some information from your IT department or the people responsible for your internal email accounts. This may lead to some simple configuration changes. We are happy to speak to your IT department directly, but the key points are listed below:

  • We need to know:
    • The type of email accounts you have (e.g. Microsoft Exchange, Gmail, Yahoo etc.)
    • The Incoming/Outgoing Mail Server addresses and ports.
    • For each user who is going to have EployMail enabled, we need to know their email username. Their email username may be their name or their full email address (please ensure that if email aliases are used, you provide the actual email address and not an alias). If users change their passwords on a regular basis after configuration the system will automatically prompt them to update their password in EployMail to match.

 

  • Configuration requirements:
    • EployMail uses the standard IMAP protocol to interact with your email accounts. As such IMAP needs to be enabled. This is a simple setting to change in Gmail, Exchange etc.
    • If your Exchange server is hosted locally, please ensure that the necessary ports are open in your Firewall to allow our servers access.

User Email Sharing Options

EployMail provides you with many settings to control how and when emails are shared with other users. It also gives managers the ability to override certain settings for users.

As an Admin User, you can choose how the users of your Eploy system share their email correspondence.

Admin > Users > Choose User > User Details

At the bottom of the screen you have the following options:


 

This user’s emails: This drop down contains settings that affect a user’s own emails

  • Allow this user to share their own emails – if this is selected for a user then they have a choice of which of their emails are “shared” (made public) within Eploy. Emails contained in the shared folders will automatically show against the relevant record (client, contact, candidate) in Eploy to users that have the necessary permissions.  One of the options for doing this is outlined below ‘How to share specific folders within Eploy’.
  • All of this users emails should be shared – if this is selected for a user then they have no choice as to which folders are “shared” (made public) in Eploy. All emails that are linked will automatically show against the relevant record (client, contact, candidate) and made visible to users that have the necessary permissions.

Other user’s emails: This drop down contains settings that affect other people’s emails

  • This user can view all email marked as public – if this is selected then when this user views a record (client, contact, candidate) within Eploy then they will be able to see all emails that other users have “shared” (marked as public).
  • This user can view all emails from all users – if this is selected then when this user looks at a record (client, contact, candidate) within Eploy they will be able to see all emails that match from other users mailboxes regardless of whether that user has “shared” (marked as public) the folder or not. This setting is ideal for managers / admin users.
  • This user cannot see other users emails – if this is selected then when this user looks at a record (client, contact, candidate), it stops them from seeing other users emails regardless of whether they are “shared” (marked as public) or not.
  • This user can only see their own emails using the EployMail tool – if this is selected then regardless as to whether the emails have been linked to a record, users including the owner of the email will not be able to see the email in Eploy. This will encourage users to save their emails into Eploy.

Sharing vs. Saving

Please note, there is a difference between sharing emails within eploy and saving them. Any email that has been shared will be visible to other Eploy users when they view a record that the email is linked to. However, when a shared email is deleted from the mailbox (or moved to a non-shared folder), it will no longer be visible in Eploy. Emails can also be saved which means they are visible in all linked Eploy records regardless of whether they are shared, and will continue to be visible even if the original email is deleted from the mailbox. Linked emails can easily be saved into Eploy en masse by multi-selecting them before saving.

Powered by Zendesk