Follow

Groups are useful within Eploy for maintaining a static list of records that you need to refer to on a regular basis, whether it is to do a regular mail merge or to perform other actions for these records. The most effective way to create the list of records for a group would be to use the filter option within the module or the Query Builder. The Query Builder can be accessed from within the module summary or click on View, scroll to the selected module and selecting the Query Builder option from within the sub menu.

Prerequisites

- A user needs to ensure that they have the correct permissions to Edit and/or Delete a group
- If you do not currently have the necessary permissions, please contact your system administrator

Creating a Group

  • Create a list of the records you wish to add into a group, this can be done either by performing a filter or query, or by simply selecting each record you wish to add
  • Select the Groups Icon from the sub menu tool bar. This will bring up an additional tool bar 

 

  • Type the name of your group, for example “HR Administrators” into the text box next to New
  • Click the create group icon 
  • This will add the records from your filtered list into that group
  • When you do this, you will notice that you are now working in your created group. This will be reflected on the left hand side of the tool bar, with the name of your group replacing No Group Loaded

Sharing a Group

You can give other users access to groups that you own or have access to. Users with “User Admin” permission enabled may also share saved groups for any of the users within the Eploy system.

Sharing a Group you own

  • Click Admin and then select My Groups to view all of your groups
  • Open the group to view the details
  • This will open the Edit Group page
  • From the Users dropdown list choose the user to share the group with and click Add

 

  • If all users need to have access to the group, remove any existing users listed by clicking on the name of any users that have already been selected. Once all users are removed you will see All Users Selected against Selected Users
  • Click Save

Sharing other Users Groups

To share other users groups you must have the “User Admin” Permission.

  • Click Admin, select Users
  • Choose the user that owns the group and open the details
  • From the tabs click on Groups to show that user’s groups
  • Open the group to view the details
  • This will open the Edit Group page
  • From the Users dropdown list choose the user to share the group with and click Add
  • If all users need to have access to the group, remove any existing users listed by clicking on their names. Once all users are removed you will see All Users Selected against Selected Users
  • Click Save

Adding Groups to your Layout

Groups are now available as column within the global list, on both the simple view and the detailed. To change you layout, click Layout beneath the record title to open the configuration window. Here, you can drag and drop the columns into view, before save & close to see the updates.

By adding the groups column to your layout, you can quickly see if the record has been included in other existing groups. This is particularly useful if you are using groups to create distribution lists or categorizing your database.

Adding Records to a Group

Adding a Single Record to a Group

  • Search for the record that you want to add to the group
  • Ensure that the group menu is open
  • If you are viewing the record from the summary screen:
    • Select the record you wish to add by ticking the box on the right (ensure that the individual record is selected as failure to do this will result in all records in the current filter being added to that group)
    • Click Add                             
  • If the record is open:
    • Click Add
  • A pop up box will display with a dropdown list of all groups in that module
  • Select the group to add the selected record to
  • Click on Apply
  • This record is now included in the group

Adding Multiple Records to a Group

  • Search for the records that you want to add to the group
  • Ensure that the group menu is selected
  • Select the records from the summary screen that you wish to add by ticking the box on the right (ensure that the records you wish to add are selected as failure to do this will result in all records in the current filter being added to that group)
  • Click Add
  • A pop up box with a dropdown list of all groups in that module will display
  • Select the group to add the selected records to
  • Click on Apply
  • These records are now included in the group

Removing Records from a Group 

Remove a Single Record from the current open Group

  • Open the group
  • Search for the record that you want to remove from the group
  • Highlight that record by selecting the tick box (ensure that the individual record is selected as failure to do this will result in all records in the current filter being removed from that group)
  • Click on the Remove from Group button
  • A warning message will display asking Are you sure you want to remove… If you are sure click OK
  • This record has now been removed

Remove Multiple Records from the current open Group

  • Open the group
  • Search for the records that you want to remove from the group
  • Highlight the multiple records by selecting the tick box (ensure that the record is selected as failure to do this will result in all records in the current filter being removed from that group)
  • Click on the Remove from Group button
  • A warning message will display asking Are you sure you want to remove… If you are sure click OK
  • These records have now been removed

Remove a Single Record from a Group

  • Search for the record that you want to remove from the group
  • Ensure that the group menu is open
  • If you are viewing the record from the summary screen highlight the record by ticking the select box (ensure that the individual record is selected as failure to do this will result in all records in the current filter being removed from that group)
  • Click Remove                    
  • If the record is open click Remove
  • A pop up box will display with a dropdown list of all groups in that module
  • Select the group to remove the selected record from
  • Click on Apply
  • This record has now been removed from the group

Adding Multiple Records to a Group

  • Search for the records that you want to remove from the group
  • Ensure that the group menu is open
  • Choose the records from the summary screen and highlight them by ticking the select box (ensure that the record is selected as failure to do this will result in all records in the current filter being added to that group)
  • Click Remove
  • A pop up box with a dropdown list of all groups in that module will display
  • Select the group to remove the selected records from
  • Click on Apply
  • These records have now been removed from the group

Deleting a Group

Delete a Group you own

  • Click Admin and then select My Groups to view all of your groups
  • Open the group to view the details
  • This will open the Edit Group page
  • At the bottom of the page click Delete

Deleting other Users Groups

  • To delete other users groups you must have “User Admin” Permissions
  • Click Admin, select Users
  • Choose the user that owns the group and open the details
  • From the tabs click on Groups to show that users groups
  • Open the group to view the details
  • This will open the Edit Group page
  • At the bottom of the page click Delete
Powered by Zendesk