e-Signature Templates will not only allow you to create your documents but also insert signable merge fields, configure auto email notifications and create PDFs of signed copies.
To help you get started, we have inserted some test templates into your system, to help you understand how the e-Signature module works. To access these, you just need to click Admin – Document Templates – e-Signature Documents from the Eploymenu.
This will take you into the e-Signature module, displaying any existing templates or allow you to create a new document.
Note: You can edit, preview, upload & download the existing templates here, all within the Eploy Document Editor. For full guides on this, please see The Document Editor. This will also cover creating new documents and uploading new templates.
New e-Signature Templates
After clicking New on the Eploy tool bar, you can configure the details of the template:
- Template Type – This will be set to Signable Document. If you want to create a standard, non-signable document, you need to create this within Document Templates.
- Merge To – This is where in the system the document will be available to send out – The options include Companies / Contacts, Candidates or Placements.
- Filename Format – This is the format of the document title, after it has been merged and created against the record. This is also how the document will be saved & visible to the recipient. You can use the Filename Merge Fields to draw information from the recipient record into the file name. Simply select the option from the list and click + to insert merge field.
- Active – This checkbox will control whether the document is available to use or not. Archived or No Longer required templates should be made inactive so that they are no longer available to select when creating e-Signature documents.
Default Document Settings
- Template Title – This is the name of the template and should include an internal reference. This is not visible to recipients, but users would be selecting this when creating the document.
- Default Stored File Type – This is the type of file that the document is saved as – for example, you may have different versions of contracts, but they are all saved under the file type of Contract.
Default Signatory Settings
- Expires in Days – Once sent, the document will only be available to sign within this number of days. As default, this will bet set to 120 days.
- Convert Signed to PDF – This setting will convert the signed template to a PDF immediately after the recipient has completed it. This ensures that once signed, no further changes are made to the document or content.
- Save Original Copy – This will allow you to maintain the original document post signing, meaning you will have a signed copy & a non-signed copy.
Default Email Notifications
Note - If you are using the template as part of your Eploy Onboarding Process, ensure all of these emails are set to Do Not Send. If you are unsure on how to set up onboarding documents compared to stand alone e-Signature documents, please contact Eploy Support.
- Initial Email – The template selected here will be the one received by the recipient when sending the document. If set to Do Not Send, no email or document will be sent. You can choose to not set the email template at this point (by setting Do Not Send) but you will be required to select a template in order to send out the e-Signature Document.
- Email for Reminders – This is the template that is sent if the e-Signature document is not completed within the reminder period.
- Remind Every (Days) – This will allow you to determine how often the reminder email for this document is sent out, if it is not completed by the recipient.
- Email When Complete – This is the email that is sent to the candidate to indicate that they have successfully signed the document and that they have completed their part of the process.
- Email When Expired – If the document is not completed and it reaches the expiration date, this email will inform the recipient that the document is no longer available.
- Stop the Template from being opened in the Doc Editor is a setting that will mean the template will not be available to edit within the document editor.
- Stop Users from editing these Template Settings will protect the integrity of these settings, meaning only the creator of the document will be able to make further changes.
- Stop Users from Uploading New Documents will protect the integrity of the template content, meaning that users are unable to over-write an existing contract with a new document.
Once all of the fields above have been set, click on Create to save the template and open within the document editor. In the blank template, the following information will be auto inserted for you:
This is to allow you to see how the fields work and build your template around it. However, it may be easier to upload your original document and insert the merge fields manually. To do this, simply click Open File within the Home tab, which will prompt you to upload your document and begin to edit within Eploy.
Note: For full guides on mastering the document editor, please see The Document Editor.